Forward in the Fifth has extended the nomination deadline for 2013 AppLE Awards through Feb. 28

Posted January 30, 2013 at 3:24 pm

The nomination deadline for Forward in the Fifth’s 2013 AppLE (Appalachian Leaders in Education) Awards has been extended through Feb. 28 to allow more time to complete and submit nomination forms from Clinton and other counties within its expanded 45-county primary service area,

The AppLE Awards recognizes leaders in education, including local parent and student groups, who have made significant contributions to promote and support education in their home communities and throughout the region.

“Southern and Eastern Kentucky is full of individuals who devote tireless efforts to improving education for young people and adults alike,” said Jim Tackett, executive director of Forward in the Fifth. “We encourage individuals across our region to share their positive experiences through our nomination process, so these heroes can be recognized for their extraordinary deeds.”

This year’s AppLE Award nominations will be accepted in the following four award categories:

• Educators

• Early childhood (daycare, Head Start, and preschool programs)

• K-12 administration (superintendent, district office staff, principals, counselors)

• K-12 teachers

• K-12 support staff (bus drivers, cafeteria, Family Resource/Youth Services, librarian, custodial staff)

• Higher education (all positions)

• Business/community leaders or community organizations

• Parents or parent groups

• Students or student groups

For more information, call 606-677-6000 or visit for a detailed description of each of the 2013 AppLE Award categories, eligibility requirements, and nomination forms.

Nomination forms may be submitted online or postmarked and mailed to Forward in the Fifth at 2292 South Hwy. 27, Somerset, KY 42501 no later than February 28, 2013. Submissions by fax or telephone will not be accepted.

“Through the AppLE Awards, we are honored to recognize those individuals who go beyond the day-to-day demands of their positions to create an exceptional educational environment,” said Dr. Dessie Bowling, Forward in the Fifth board chair. “These are the valuable contributions which assist our young people and communities to reach their full potential.”

Award finalists will be notified by Forward in the Fifth, and the winners announced at a special event in the spring of 2013.

Nominations will be accepted within Forward in the Fifth’s 45-county primary service area, which includes: Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Harlan, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Rowan, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley, and Wolfe counties.

Forward in the Fifth, a non-profit organization and an affiliate of The Center for Rural Development, was formed in 1986 by U.S. Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05) and other leaders to work to reverse low educational attainment levels in the Fifth Congressional District. The organization strives to engage community stakeholders to advance the value of education; serves as advocates to advance all education systems to improve educational attainment; and supports schools and stakeholders to secure needed resources to improve the quality of education within their local communities.