Freshmen sweep district tournaments

Posted March 16, 2021 at 11:37 am


Girls Freshman District Champs 2021.psd

In the 2021 Freshman District tournament held at Cumberland County High School on Wednesday, March 10, the Clinton County Lady Bulldogs freshman team were crowned District Champions after defeating Russell County in the first round and Metcalfe County in the championship game.

In the first round, the Lady Bulldogs led at the end of the first quarter against Russell County, 13-5, and were up 26-11 at the half. By the end of the third quarter, the Lady Dawgs extended its lead by outscoring Russell County 9-5, for a 35-16 score. The game ended with a final score of 41-29 in favor of the Lady Dawgs.

The team was led in scoring by Aysha Sutton with 15 points, followed by Landree Moons with nine points, Tatum Harlan with eight points, Chloe Longwell with five points, and Sadie Ipock with four points.

In the championship game, the Lady Bulldogs defeated the Metcalfe County Lady Hornets. After a slow start in the first quarter, the Lady dawgs were up 10 at the half, 15-5.

During the third quarter, they added to their lead, ending the quarter with a 27-13 lead.

The Lady Dawgs finished the game with a 20 point win, 41-21. The team was led in scoring by Moons with 18 points. Harlan had 11 points, Sutton had eight points, and Makayla Smith had four points.

The Clinton County Bulldog Freshmen team took the championship by defeating Russell County in the first round, 44-25, and picking up the win over Metcalfe County in the finals, 47-35.

In the first round, Clinton County jumped on top early with a 10-4 lead. Clinton County doubled its score in the second quarter and held Russell County to only three points total for a halftime score of, 20-7.

In the third quarter, Clinton County put up 11 points to Russell County’s 10 for a 31-17 lead. During the final quarter, the Bulldogs continued to control the game and outscored Russell County 13-8 to pick up the 44-25 win. Scoring for Clinton County included: Drew Davis with 12 points, Steele Burchett had 11 points, Cohen Davis recorded eight points, Cannon Young grabbed six points, Caleb Thrasher posted four points, Zach Poore had two points, and Blane Melton rounded out scoring with one point.

Clinton County then moved on to the finals to take on Metcalfe County. During the first quarter, Clinton County put up 12 points to the Hornets’ seven. During the second quarter, the Dawgs remained in control and put up 12 more points for a halftime lead of, 24-13.

The Dawgs expanded its lead in the third quarter by posting 17 points compared to Metcalfe County’s eight, 41-21. By the time the final buzzer sounded, the Dawgs came out with the 47-35 victory and the title of district champs.

Scoring for Clinton County included: Burchett with a team high 28 points, C. Davis had nine points, and D. Davis scored four points. Nick Poore, Cannon Young and Caleb Thrasher each scored two points.