Names released of those seeking SKRECC board seats

Posted February 19, 2013 at 7:37 pm

The upcoming election to select four new board members to fill vacant seats on the South Kentucky Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation (RECC) will see some 35 candidates seeking the offices, including 13 who are seeking the board member seat for District 5 that includes Clinton County.

According to SKRECC spokesperson Joy Bullock who issued a press release last week concerning the number of candidates seeking the four vacant seats, the candidates seeking election to the board in District 5 are: Greg Beard, David Claywell, Lynn Conner, Mark Dalton, Melvin Daniel, Dale Denney, Jay Garner, Tommy Nelson, Jr., James Pennycuff, Jr., Donald Poore, York Porter, Jeff Smith, DC, and Joe Summers.

The candidates who will appear on the ballot met the co-op’s Bylaw director qualifications, turned in signatures of at least 75 SKRECC members, and passed an extensive background check, according to last week’s press release.

“Our membership should be pleased with all the work and effort that has gone into enhancing the cooperatives democratic process,” said Allen Anderson, CEO SKRECC. “Members can make their voices heard by exercising their right and privilege as a member-owner of South Kentucky RECC by casting their vote for the candidates they feel will best serve them on the cooperative’s board.

Anderson also pointed out that not only will members be voting for directors in their own district, but will also be able to vote in the other three districts as well.

“SKRECC members will be able to vote by mail for one candidate in each district where there is a vacant director seat. Election ballots will be mailed to members April 1 and must be returned by April 24 to be counted. Look for additional information on the candidates, ballots and deadlines in the April Issue of Kentucky Living Magazine’s South Kentucky insert.”

The board vacancies were created when four board members suddenly announced their retirement from their seats near the end of a board meeting being held on September 13.

Bill Shearer, who had represented Clinton County on the SKRECC Board for som 36 years, was one of those four members who left the board at that time.

Also leaving the board then were Richard Stephans of McCreary County, Charles Gore of Russell County and John Pruitt of Pulaski County.

In addition to the candidates mentioned earlier who will be seeking the board seat in District 5, the candidates seeking the other three board seats include – District 6: Vernon Gilreath, Boris Haynes and Braxton King.

In District 2, those appearing on the ballot will be: Roy Helm, Greg Redmon and Gene Smith.

In District 1, some 16 names will appear on the ballot, including: Rodney Ballenger, Cathy Epperson, Michael Erp, Scott Evans, Greg Gover, Joseph “Pat” Green, Steve Hatfield, Judy Martini, Stanley Oliver, Eugene Rogers, Neal Shoemaker, Larry Stewart, J. C. Tucker, Ray Tucker, Jr., Monika Wiles and Penny Wood